Poster Contest Winners Announced

10th Annual Children’s Water Conservation Poster Contest Winners Announced: “Show Us Your Water Appreciation”

Santa Fe May 3, 2013 _ A third grader from La Mariposa Montessori is the grand prize winner of the 10th Annual Children’s Water Conservation Poster Contest, the City of Santa Fe Water Conservation Office announced today.

Posters on Save Water Contest Winner Tristan Lujan

The theme for this year’s contest was “Show Us Your Water Appreciation.” Posters were submitted by 291 students in first through sixth grades and were judged on water conservation message, creativity, originality and artistic design.

As the judges top pick, the watercolor by Tristan Lujan was selected as the grand prize.  Tirsten’s artwork features water in its chemical formula H2O with ocean creatures swimming in the letter H, the blue and green number 2 represents the relationship between land and water, the world for the letter O, and the words, “El Agua Es Vida.”  The poster will be displayed on the back of a city bus for a year.

The first and second place artwork for each grade in the contest will be featured in the city’s 2014 water conservation calendar. All 18 winners will receive a trophy and water conservation prize package.

The City Council will honor the students at 5:00 pm, May 8, in the City Hall Council Chambers, 200 Lincoln Avenue. The winning posters will be displayed at City Hall during the Month of May.

“ This contest allows students to think creatively about water. Some of the artwork featured great water conservation messages but also there was the understanding that our water resources are limited,,” said City Councilor Rebecca Wurtzberger, one of the judges in this year’s contest. “Afterall, its important to engage children. Creating water awareness now will encourage them to be water savers in the future.”

The other judges included City Councilor Chris Calvert, Santa Fe Public School Art Coordinator Amy Suma, Water Conservation Committee members Doug Pushard, Stephen Wiman, and Lisa Randall.

The winners:

First Grade

1st, Joaquin Sisneros, Carlos Gilbert Elementary

2nd, Rio Ryan, NM Academy of International Studies

3rd, Elle Dunner, Carlos Gilbert Elementary

Second Grade

1st, Alec Hardy, Rio Grande Elementary

2nd, Rowan Sullivan, Dragonfly School

3rd, Josiah Griego, Carlos Gilbert Elementary

Third Grade

1st/Grand Prize, Tristen Lujan, La Mariposa Montessori

2nd, Molly Murphey, Dragonfly School

3rd, Santi Alvarez, Santo Nino

Fourth Grade

1st, Joanna Whysner, Acequia Madre

2nd, Deangelo Quintana, Agua Fria Elementary

3rd, Alex Rigales, Amy Biehl Community School

Fifth Grade

1st, Sam Matthews, La Mariposa Montessori

2nd, Eva Sophia Crocker, La Mariposa Montessori

3rd, Gabby Ruggeiro, Rio Grande Elementary

Sixth Grade

1st, Carlos Ruiz, Nava Elementary

2nd, Delilah Rodriguez, Nava Elementary

3rd, Angela Lowenthal, La Mariposa Montessori